Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas Welcome to the Official Website for the Texas Senate
Seal of the Senate of the State of Texas
Welcome to the official website for the
Texas Senate
Senator Jane Nelson: District 12
Senator Jane Nelson
P.O. Box 12068, State Capitol
Austin, Texas 78711
Tel. (512) 463-0112
Press Release
July 1, 2021
Contact: Katie Greer
(512) 463-0370

AUSTIN – Texas State Senator Jane Nelson, R-Flower Mound, invites students who reside in Senate District 12 to apply for the Texas Armed Services Scholarship Program, which awards a $10,000 scholarship to students who are interested in military service.

"As the daughter of a World War II veteran, I have the utmost respect for our service members," Senator Nelson said. "Texans who are committed to serving our country deserve our support — on the battlefield and in the classroom. This scholarship helps them achieve their dreams."

To be eligible, students must meet two of the following four academic criteria:

  • Be on track to graduate or graduated high school with the Distinguished Level of Achievement Plan or the International Baccalaureate Program;
  • A high school GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale;
  • Achieve a college readiness score of 1070 on the SAT or 23 on the ACT; and
  • Be currently ranked at the top one-third of the student's high school graduating class.

To be chosen to receive the scholarship in fall 2021 the student:

  1. Must be accepted and enrolled as a freshman at a private or public institution of higher education in Texas;
  2. Be an ROTC member in good standing; and
  3. Enter into an agreement with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB).

More information and eligibility requirements for the scholarship can be found at Interested students must submit applications to Senator Nelson via mail at P.O. Box 12068, Austin TX 78701 or via email at by August 31, 2021. The application can be found at To learn more about Senator Nelson's application process, you may contact Kevin Fletcher at or by phone at (512) 463-0112.

SENATOR JANE NELSON represents District 12, including portions of Tarrant and Denton Counties. She is Chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and the highest-ranking Republican in the Texas Senate.