

THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS

The Honorable Molly Cook

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: daphne.alcala@senate.texas.gov

Houston State Officials Statement on Extension of Houston Independent School District Takeover

AUSTIN – Today, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) announced a two-year extension of the state takeover of the Houston Independent School District (HISD). We are angered and disappointed by this news. The rationale for the state takeover of HISD was flawed from the beginning, and the results are questionable at best. The A-F ratings used to justify this continued takeover are a moving goalpost, and other metrics remain unjustified. For the last two years, HISD has been hemorrhaging students, teachers, and principals with no clear end in sight. Our constituents have made it clear that they have lost confidence in the direction of the district under Mike Miles. They continue to feel shut out of key decisions and are deeply concerned about the ongoing mismanagement and lack of collaboration with school leadership and the community.

In response to the concerning impacts of a continued state takeover of HISD, we each filed legislation this session: <u>SB 788</u> (Alvarado), <u>SB 564/HB 2533</u> (Miles/House Delegation), <u>SB 1764</u> (Cook). Unfortunately, none of the bills we filed received a hearing, and instead, TEA has extended its takeover with no end in sight.

It is disingenuous for TEA to extend this takeover and reference exit criteria when no clear metrics for exit have ever been established. Houston's teachers, students, and parents deserve transparency and elected governance that is accountable to their constituents. We will continue to monitor the situation. As we come home, we will work with our constituents to end the takeover and advocate for better outcomes for our HISD schools.



Senator Carol Alvarado Senate District 6

Senator Molly Cook Senate District 15 Senator Borris Miles Senate District 13

Rep. Gene Wu House District 137

Rep. Ann Johnson House District 134 Rep. Charlene Ward Johnson House District 139

Kema W. allen

Jolanda "Jo" Jones

Charlene Ward Johnson

Rep. Jon Rosenthal House District 135

Rep. Penny Morales Shaw House District 148

Yennyllerales haw

Rep. Jolanda Jones House District 147

Rep. Ana Hernandez House District 143 Rep. Senfronia Thompson House District 141

Senfronia Thompson

Rep. Alma Allen House District 131

Rep. Christina Morales House District 145 Rep. Lauren Ashley Simmons House District 146 Rep. Armando Walle House District 140

I.C. Walle

Rep. Mary Ann Perez House District 144

Mary anderez

Rep. Ron Reynolds House District 27

(###)