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Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission 
Quarterly Update to the Senate Business and Commerce Committee 

January 14, 2014 
 

IMPLEMENTATION OF BEER-RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
TABC has implemented, without significant problems or concerns, all beer-related 
legislation that went into effect following the 83rd Legislative Session.  
 
SB 515 by Eltife authorizes a brewpub to manufacture up to 10,000 barrels a year 
instead of 5,000. Authorizes brewpubs to sell their own malt beverages to wholesalers 
and distributors. Authorizes brewpubs holding a BG permit who only sell their own 
product to sell to retailers (up to 1,000 barrels), and to any qualified person outside of 
Texas. Effective 6-14-13. 
 
Brewpubs who wish to sell their products to distributors must submit a territorial 
agreement to TABC and receive label approval on the products. At this time, only one 
brewpub has submitted a territorial agreement. Six brewpubs have obtained label 
approval for products, indicating that they expect to sell their product to retailers, 
distributors, or ship to qualified persons outside of Texas. 
 
Ten new brewpub licenses were issued in 2013, including two that switched from 
breweries to brewpubs (Jester King and New Braunfels Brewing Company). TABC 
issued five brewpub licenses in 2012 and nine in 2011. There are now 53 brewpubs in 
Texas: 31 with Wine and Beer Permits (BGs) and 22 with Mixed Beverage Permits 
(MBs or RMs). 
 
Two issues have been raised relating to this new legislation which perhaps were not 
fully understood until the new laws were in place. First, although SB 515 authorizes 
certain brewpubs to sell directly to retailers, it does not directly give them the authority 
to transport their product. Because no special permit is required to transport beer (up to 
4% ABW), the brewpubs can make those deliveries. However, a permit is required to 
transport ale (over 4% ABW).  
 
After a careful review of relevant sections of the Alcoholic Beverage Code, TABC has 
determined that brewpubs who are authorized to sell direct to retailers have two options 
available to them.  
1. Hire a company that holds a Carrier Permit (C) to transport product. 
2. Obtain a Private Carrier Permit (O) to transport product. The fee for a two-year 

Private Carrier Permit is $60. The surcharge is $252.  
 
Second, the Alcoholic Beverage Code authorizes brewpubs to sell their own products 
only at the licensed location. Therefore, if a brewpub obtains a temporary permit or 
caterer’s permit for a special event away from the brewpub, they are not authorized to 
sell their own beer or ale – only other brewery products. They would have to sell their 
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own product to a distributor, and then purchase it back, having the distributor deliver the 
product to the location where the special event is being held. 
 

Training was provided to Texas industry members in August 2013, and a detailed letter 

explaining the implementation of new laws related to brewpubs is being finalized. 

 
SB 516 and SB 517 by Eltife changed the limits on small brewers and manufacturers 
selling directly to retailers. Under previous law, a brewer or manufacturer who made 
less than 75,000 barrels annually could self-distribute any amount. Under SB 516 and 
SB 517, a brewer or manufacturer who makes less than 125,000 barrels annually can 
obtain a self-distribution permit or license and sell up to 40,000 barrels to retailers 
annually. Effective 6-14-13. 
 
Although SB 516 and SB 517 went into effect June 14th, TABC was unable to begin 
issuing the new permit and license types until a rule was passed establishing a 
surcharge. In the meantime, those brewers and manufacturers who were already selling 
direct to retailers were allowed to continue these sales without the new license/permit. 
 
The new rule became effective October 24, 2013, and the agency has been accepting 
applications and issuing the licenses and permits since that time. Fifteen breweries 
have obtained their self-distribution licenses/permits. 
 
 
SB 518 by Eltife authorizes manufacturers and brewers who produce less than 
225,000 barrels of malt beverages annually to sell up to 5,000 barrels annually of malt 
beverages produced on the premises to visitors at the brewery for on-premises 
consumption. Effective 6-14-13. 
 
Brewers and manufacturers who were previously providing free malt beverages to 
visitors at the brewery are now charging for these drinks. TABC has not been made 
aware of any problems created by this new authority. However, the agency is in the 
process of reviewing TABC Administrative Rule 45.103 On-Premise Promotions. 
Currently, this rule applies to retailers and prohibits happy hour practices and drink 
specials that can be construed as encouraging excessive consumption. Because all 
members of the manufacturing level now have the authority to sell direct to consumer, 
the agency believes the same restrictions should apply to breweries, wineries and 
distilleries. 
 
Nineteen new breweries in Texas obtained permits in 2013 as compared to 18 in 2012 
and 19 in 2011. All but one of these breweries is still active today. There are currently 
74 total “packaging” breweries in Texas; 69 are craft brewers and five are very large 
breweries.  
 
As shown in the chart below, 43 Texas craft brewers hold Brewer’s Permits (B) 
authorizing the production of alt/malt liquor (malt beverages with more than 4% ABW). 
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Two craft brewers hold Manufacturer’s Licenses (BA), authorizing the production of beer 
(malt beverages with no more than 4% ABW). Twenty-four craft brewers hold both a 
Brewer’s Permit and a Manufacturer’s License, authorizing the production of malt 
beverages above and below 4% ABW. 
 

 
 
SB 639 by Carona clarifies the prohibition on reach-back pricing and prohibits a 
manufacturer from accepting payment for a territorial agreement. Nothing in section 
102.75 AB Code shall interfere with the rights of a manufacturer or distributor from 
entering into contractual agreements that could be construed as governing ordinary 
business transactions. Nothing in the Code prohibits contractual agreements between 
members of the same tier who hold the same licenses and permits. Effective 6-14-13. 
 
Although this new legislation has resulted in many discussions about legislative intent 
and the precise meaning of language in the bill, there have been no complaints filed and 
no contractual agreements called into question. 
 
HB 3307 by Geren defines alternating brewery proprietorship and contract brewing 
arrangement and authorizes brewers, nonresident brewers, manufacturers and 
nonresident manufacturers to engage in these activities, removing the requirement that 
they have been in business on May 1, 2005. A bond is required for an entity involved in 
these activities that does not own a fee interest in a brewing facility. 
 
A brewer, nonresident brewer, manufacturer and nonresident manufacturer shall verify 
to TABC on an annual basis that a brewing or manufacturing facility owned or controlled 
by the permit or license holder is not used to produce malt beverages primarily for a 
specific retailer or the retailer's affiliates. Effective 9-1-13. 
 
TABC has issued one permit to a new brewery location in Fort Worth that we believe 
intends to provide contract brewing services to other entities. There may be others. 
There are a number of brewery locations outside of Texas that hold TABC permits and 
will likely participate in contract brewing. 
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Training was provided to Texas industry members in August 2013, and a detailed letter 

explaining the implementation of new laws related to malt beverages was distributed to 

brewers and manufacturers via e-mail, to their lobbyist, and posted on our website in 

December 2013. 

 

IMPLEMENTATION OF DISTILLERY-RELATED LEGISLATION 
 
SB 828 by Van de Putte created a Distiller's Agent's Permit for employees of a distillery 
so they can represent the distiller, solicit and take orders from wholesalers and conduct 
free tastings for consumers at package stores. Effective 9-1-13. 
 
Although SB 828 went into effect September 1st, TABC was unable to begin issuing the 
new permit type until a rule was passed establishing a surcharge. The new rule went 
into effect October 24, 2013, and the agency has issued 32 permits since that date.  
 
SB 905 by Van de Putte authorizes a distillery located in a wet area to sell distilled 
spirits manufactured by the permit holder to the ultimate consumer: 

 for consumption on the licensed premises (up to 3,000 gallons annually) and  

 for consumption off the premises (up to 3,500 gallons annually)  

o in unbroken packages containing no more than 750 ml  

o no more than two 750 ml bottles or the equivalent to the same consumer in a 

30-day period.  

Hours of sale are the same as a mixed beverage or package store permit, depending on 

whether sale is for on- or off-premises consumption. No shipping or delivery or buying 

for someone else. The bottle must “bear a notice affixed to the bottle that” says the 

bottle is commemorative, states the month and year the bottle is sold and is signed by 

an agent/employee of the permit holder. Effective 9-1-13. 

We have received several questions about how the wet/dry issue of the location plays 

into the distillery’s ability to sell for on-premise consumption. However, we have not 

received any complaints related to the new authority distillers have been granted. 

Training was provided to industry members in August 2013. Additional training specific 

to Texas distillers was provided in October 2013. A detailed letter explaining the 

implementation of new laws related to distillers was distributed to distillers via e-mail, to 

their lobbyist, and posted on our website in December 2013. 

IMPLEMENTATION OF OTHER LEGISLATION 
 
HB 2806 by Geren states that a retail/winery account is not “delinquent” if the payment 
is received by the wholesaler not later than the fourth business day after the date 
payment is due under the credit law system. Effective 6-14-13. 
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An issue has arisen regarding how to handle payments received after the fourth 
business day if they are paid by a check that has insufficient funds. In the past, if a 
payment had not been made by the due date, it would have to be made by cash or cash 
equivalent to prevent a bounced check after it was too late to add the entity to the 
delinquent list. Under the new law, because the payment is not delinquent until four 
days after the due date, it does not provide the additional time necessary to discover a 
check has bounced and report the retailer to TABC to be place on the delinquent list. 
TABC and industry parties are working together to resolve this issue through rulemaking 
and possibly a change in TABC’s reporting system. 
 
HB 2818 by Sheffield changed the statutes regarding the effect of local option 
elections. Current law states that if a justice precinct (JP) holds an election, the only 
way to over-ride that election is to hold a subsequent election within the same 
boundaries of the JP at the time of the first election, even if the boundaries have 
changed or the precinct no longer exists. HB 2818 authorizes a new election to be held 
using the current justice precinct boundaries. 
 
HB 2818 also authorizes the issuance of wine and beer retailer (on- and off-premise) 
permits (BGs), retail dealer’s on-premises licenses (BEs), or late hours licenses (BLs), 
in an area that has approved the sale of mixed beverages (spirits, wine, and beer for 
on-premises consumption), and approved the sale of wine and beer for off-premises 
consumption. 
 
Finally, HB 2818 authorizes the issuance of wine and beer retailer (on- and off-premise) 
permits (BGs), retail dealer’s on-premises licenses (BEs), or late hours licenses (BLs), 
to restaurants that hold a Food and Beverage Certificate in an area that has approved 
the sale of mixed beverages in a restaurant that holds a Food and Beverage Certificate 
and approved the sale of wine and beer for off-premises consumption. Effective 9-1-13. 
 
No significant issues have arisen from this legislation. 
 
SB 1035 by Carona was intended to streamline the licensing process by 1) having 
license applicants pay state fees directly to TABC instead of the county tax assessor-
collector; 2) eliminating the requirement of hearings before the county judge in non-
contested cases (no protests) but increasing the fee from $5 to $25; 3) codifying the 
practice of TABC giving 5% of the license fee to the county; 4) requiring that notice of 
application be posted in a newspaper by the applicant instead of the county clerk. 
Effective 9-1-13. 
 
TABC has been meeting with city and county clerks, judges and tax assessor collectors 
training employees on the new license process. We are on target to begin collecting 
fees from beer license applicants on February 1, 2014.  
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HB 3572 by Rep. Hildebrand 
Effective January 1, 2014, a new law went into effect regarding mixed beverage gross 
receipts taxes. HB 3572 reduced the mixed beverage gross receipts tax from 14% to 
6.7%. This tax is included in the drink price and paid by the permit holder. The bill also 
created a new 8.25% “mixed beverage sales tax” which is charged to the consumer on 
top of the drink price. As patrons have begun seeing this new tax on receipts, they have 
contacted TABC asking questions. We are responding with a brief explanation and 
directing them to the Comptroller’s website for a more in-depth explanation. 
 

SIGNIFICANT EVENTS 
 
Agency Revenue 
During the FY 12-13 Biennium, TABC met the Biennial Revenue Estimate (BRE) in July 
– a month ahead of time. For the FY 12-13 biennium, the agency BRE was $119.80 
million, and the agency collected $140.4 million in revenue. The excess revenue 
collected stays in General Revenue to fund other state agency programs.  
 
FY12 – BRE $68.4 million at 8/31/12 actual - $75.8 million 
FY13 – BRE $51.4 million at 8/31/13 actual – $64.6 million 
 
As shown below, the first year of the biennium consistently produces more revenue 
because more two-year permits are renewed during the first year of the biennium. 
 
Galveston Ports of Entry Tax Collection  
On January 4, 2014, for the first time, cruise travelers disembarking out of the Port of 
Galveston were asked to pay a tax for alcoholic beverages and cigarettes that were 
purchased either on the ship's duty free store or at a foreign port of call. TABC currently 
operates 20 ports of entry collection facilities along the Texas-Mexico border where the 
tax is presently collected on alcoholic beverages and cigarettes imported into the state. 
During the recent legislative session, the agency was appropriated funding to begin tax 
collection of imported alcoholic beverages and cigarettes from seaport facilities. The 
Galveston Port facility will be the first seaport location where this tax will be collected 
with plans to extend to the Houston-Bayport facility in the fall of 2014. 
 
Section 107.07 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code, in effect for over 40 years, requires that 
each adult (21 years old and over) importing alcoholic beverages into the state for 
personal consumption pay the state tax and an administrative fee of $3.00. The law 
limits personal importation by an adult to once every 30 days with limits of: 1 gallon of 
distilled spirits, 3 gallons of wine, and 288 ounces of malt beverages (24 12-ounce 
containers). Persons importing alcoholic beverages must personally accompany the 
product as it enters the state.  
 
TABC personnel worked in advance with Port of Galveston and cruise line officials to 
ensure that the tax collection was done efficiently and with limited disruption of port 
operations and delays to the passengers. Details on the revenue collected during the 
first three months of operation will be included in the April Quarterly Report. 
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Label Approval 
After receiving feedback from the Texas Craft Brewer’s Guild regarding the amount of 
time the agency was taking to approve new malt beverage products, TABC hired a 
temporary employee to assist with the paperwork involved. The agency is investigating 
ways to finance an on-line label approval system which would reduce submission errors 
and significantly reduce the processing time. Malt beverages cannot be sold in Texas 
until they receive label approval from both the federal Tax and Trade Bureau and from 
TABC. The faster the agency can approve new products, the faster they can be sold, 
businesses can grow, jobs are offered, and taxes are collected. 


