
QUARTERLY UPDATE TO THE 

SENATE BUSINESS AND COMMERCE COMMITTEE 

October 10, 2013 

BY THE OFFICE OF CONSUMER CREDIT COMMISSIONER 

 

IMPLEMENTATION OF LEGISLATION FROM THE 83RD LEGISLATURE 

SB 247: Property Tax Loans 
 

Summary:  
This bill imposes new requirements on property tax lenders. The bill’s requirements fall mainly into the following 
categories: 
 

 Judicial foreclosure: The bill repeals language allowing property tax lenders to engage in non-judicial 
foreclosure. This effectively requires them to use judicial foreclosure for any property tax loans closed on 
or after the bill’s effective date. 
 

 Advertisements: The bill prohibits deceptive or misleading advertising, and it requires property tax 
lenders to disclose certain additional information if they disclose a rate or charge in an advertisement. 
 

 Payoff statements: The bill imposes new requirements for payoff requests sent by other lienholders and 
payoff statements provided by the property tax lender. It requires the Finance Commission to adopt 
forms for the payoff statement and the request for a payoff statement. 
 

 New prohibitions: The bill prohibits property tax loans in certain situations (e.g., where the borrower is 65 
years old or older and can claim a tax exemption, or where the taxes are neither due nor delinquent). 

 
Effective date:   
May 29, 2013. The bill went into effect immediately upon the governor’s signature. The new law applies only to 
property tax loans closed on or after May 29, and advertisements distributed on or after May 29. Property tax 
loans closed before May 29 are still subject to previous law. 
 
Implementation Activities: 
In late May, the OCCC distributed an advisory bulletin summarizing SB 247’s requirements. 
 
At its August 2013 meeting, the Texas Finance Commission adopted a rule implementing SB 247’s advertising 
provisions. The rule prohibits property tax lenders from including certain phrases in advertisements, and it 
describes how property tax lenders must disclose rates in their advertisements. The rule also amends the model 
form for the property owner’s sworn authorization, deleting a reference to borrowers who are 65 years old or 
older. 
 
In September, the OCCC held a stakeholder meeting on proposed rules to implement SB 247’s payoff statement 
requirements. Representatives from the Texas Property Tax Lienholders Association, the Texas Bankers 
Association, the Texas Mortgage Bankers Association, the Independent Bankers Association of Texas, and Protect 
My Texas Property attended the meeting. The OCCC has developed model forms for the payoff statement and the 
request for a payoff statement, incorporating suggestions made at the meeting. The Finance Commission intends 
to adopt the model forms—as well as a rule describing how they must be used—at its October 18 meeting. 
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SB 1251: Regulated Loan Fees 
 
Summary: 
Under previous law, Chapter 342 of the Finance Code provided a $25 maximum administrative fee under 
Subchapter E, and a $10 maximum acquisition charge under Subchapter F. This bill allows the Finance Commission 
to adopt rules setting a higher Subchapter E administrative fee and a higher Subchapter F acquisition charge. The 
bill provides that the administrative fee and the acquisition charge are not interest. 
 
The bill also allows authorized lenders to use the true daily earnings method or scheduled installment earnings 
method for a Subchapter F loan. The bill includes interest-calculation requirements and payment-allocation 
requirements for a Subchapter F loan in which a lender uses these earnings methods. 
 
Effective date:  
September 1, 2013 
 
Implementation Activities: 

In May, the OCCC held a stakeholder meeting regarding the maximum administrative fee and maximum acquisition 
charge. Representatives from the Texas Consumer Finance Association, Springleaf Financial Services, Famsa 
Financial, Texas Appleseed, and the Center for Public Policy Priorities attended the meeting.  
 
At its August meeting, the Finance Commission adopted a rule setting the maximum administrative fee at $100 
and the maximum acquisition charge at the lesser of $100 or 10% of the cash advance. The rule also prohibits a 
Subchapter F lender from charging an acquisition charge more than once per month. Later in August, the OCCC 
distributed an advisory bulletin summarizing the rule’s requirements. 
 
Also at its August meeting, the Finance Commission published for comment a rule describing the calculation 
requirements for Subchapter F loans using the true daily earnings method or scheduled installment earnings 
method. The Finance Commission intends to adopt this rule at its October 18 meeting.  
 

SB 1248: Chapter 345 Documentary Fee 
 

Summary: 
Under previous law, Chapter 345 of the Finance Code allowed a retail seller to charge a $50 maximum 
documentary fee in a retail installment transaction for the purchase of a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, moped, 
all-terrain vehicle, boat, boat motor, boat trailer, or towable recreational vehicle. This bill repeals the $50 
limitation on the documentary fee in these sales. The bill provides that a documentary fee in these sales must be 
reasonable, must be agreed to by the parties, and may not exceed an amount set by the Finance Commission. 
 
Effective date: 
September 1, 2013 
 
Implementation Activities: 
In late May, the OCCC held a stakeholder meeting regarding the maximum documentary fee under Chapter 345. 
Representatives from the Texas Motorcycle Dealers Association, the Boating Trades Association of Texas, the Texas 
Recreational Vehicle Association, and Texas Appleseed attended the meeting.  
 
At its August meeting, the Finance Commission adopted a rule setting the maximum documentary fee under 
Chapter 345. The rule distinguishes between land vehicles titled with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, and 
watercraft titled with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. The rule provides a $125 maximum documentary 
fee for a retail installment contract that includes one or more land vehicles, a $125 maximum for a contract that 
includes one or more watercraft, and a $175 maximum for a contract that includes both a land vehicle and a 
watercraft. Later in August, the OCCC distributed an advisory bulletin summarizing the rule’s requirements. 
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HB 2548: Credit Card Surcharge Exclusive Jurisdiction 
 
Summary:  
Under previous law, the Finance Commission has exclusive jurisdiction to enforce Section 339.001 of the Finance 
Code, which prohibits credit card surcharges. This bill provides that the OCCC has exclusive jurisdiction to enforce 
the section. The bill also amends Chapter 14 of the Finance Code to provide that the OCCC has investigation 
authority, enforcement authority, and authority to order restitution to a person injured by a violation of Section 
339.001. 
 
Effective date:  
September 1, 2013 
 
Implementation Activities: 
The OCCC has been working through transition issues related to the changed enforcement policy associated with 
HB 2548.  The Finance Commission adopted a rule to assist with enforcement procedure for complaints both 
before and after the effective date.  Nineteen complaints have recently been received that are being processed 
through under the older provisions.  Eight of those have been closed and eleven remain pending as they are being 
worked through to resolution. 
 

SIGNIFICANT POLICY ISSUES 
 

Credit Access Businesses offering Payday (deferred presentment) and Auto Title Loans 
Background: 
The 82

nd
 Legislature amended Chapter 393 of the Finance Code establishing new requirements for “credit access 

businesses,” which are credit services organizations (CSOs) that provide payday loans or title loans.  
 
Credit access businesses (CABs) are required to provide a consumer disclosure prescribed by the Finance 
Commission. The disclosure must include interest, fees, and APR for the loan and a comparison of those charges to 
“alternative forms of consumer debt,” and it must describe fees that the consumer will incur for renewing the 
loan. CABs are also required to obtain a license with the OCCC. The OCCC has examination and investigation 
authority over credit access businesses. Chapter 393 also requires the Finance Commission to create an 
endowment for financial education in Texas.  
 
The requirements became effective January 1, 2012.  Significant legislative activity and effort ensued in the 83

rd
 

Legislature for a short term lending reform bill.  Unfortunately, the 83
rd

 session came to a close without a final 
legislative reform bill. 
 

Regulatory Activities 
 
Licensing 
New applications for CABs continued at a brisk pace for FY2013, reflecting a 15% growth in the number of CAB 
locations. 
 

CAB Applications FY 12 FY13 

Applications Filed 3,804 272 

Applications Fully Approved 3,054 663 

Applications Withdrawn 201 23 

Provisional Licenses Pending 3 0 

Applications Denied 26 7 

Number of CAB Licenses Issued and Active 3,022 3,502 
Table 1: CAB applications received and processed as of August 2012 and August 2013.  
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Consumer Protection & Examination 

The OCCC significantly stepped up its examination activity in FY 13, more than tripling the production of the prior 
year.  The average hours per CAB examination (7.51 hours per exam) for FY 2013 continues to be higher than 
estimated.  The most significant non-compliance areas are smaller licensees not understanding the basic 
requirements of Credit Service Organization disclosures and contracts, and variations in the loan and credit service 
organization transaction design in response to city ordinances.  Wide variability exists within the industry and lack 
of uniformity is becoming a greater compliance concern. During FY13, the OCCC also participated in and 
coordinated examinations with the Federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB). 
 

CAB Examinations FY 12 FY13 

Number of Examinations 290 916 

Acceptable Level of Compliance 90.9% 91.1% 

Investigations Completed 0 13 

 

Although the examination process has indicated that the majority of examined entities were within acceptable 
compliance levels, caution should be exercised in characterizing the entire industry at this rate of compliance.  
Thus far, the OCCC has only examined roughly less than 35% of the industry and the expectation is that the 
acceptable level of compliance will decline as additional segments of the industry come under examination.  
Common violations and areas of non-compliance, in addition to that mentioned above, were identified as failure to 
provide or providing incorrect consumer disclosures; failure to post fee schedules; failure to obtain non-obligor 
signature; and charging of excessive or unauthorized late charges.   Restitution to consumers as a result of 
examinations of CABs was $18,054 for FY13. 
 
Consumer Complaints   
The consumer assistance section processed 

 282 complaints between September 1, 2011, and August 31, 2012 which represented 14.49% of all 
processed complaints by the agency during that 12-month period. 

 422 complaints between September 1, 2012, and August 31, 2013 which represented 21.16% of all 
processed complaints by the agency during that 12-month period. 
 

Fiscal Year Payday Loans Title Loans Total 

FY ‘12 179 103 282 

FY ‘13 243 179 422 

 

Consumer assistance pertaining to CAB transactions resulted in consumers receiving refunds totaling $6,331.59.  
The complaints predominately pertain to charges and fees, collection practices, posting/processing of payments, 
and repossessions, as shown in the table below for both categories. 

 

FY ’13:  September 1, 2012– August 31, 2013 

Payday Loans Title Loans 

Complaint/Concern % of Closed 
Complaints 

Complaint/Concern % of Closed 
Complaints 

Excessive/unauthorized Charges 
& Fees

 
40.7% Repossession 22.3% 

Collection Practices
 

15.6% Excessive/unauthorized Charges & 
Fees 

20.1% 

Payment Posting/Processing
 

14.4% Payment Posting/Processing 19.0% 
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Legal  
The legal department has reported minimal enforcement actions taken or required during FY 2013, and those 
taken predominately pertain to compliance with quarterly reporting requirements.  
 

Type of Action Number of Actions Cause of Action 

Administrative 
Hearing 

 
No. Hearings 
Conducted/Scheduled:     2 
 
 
No. Hearings Dismissed:   2 

 
 
Applicant’s appeal of license denial. 
 

 Applicant completed application requirements.  

 Applicant entered into agreed order. 

License 
Revocation 

0  

Issuance of 
Preliminary 

Reports 
49 

Licensees did not timely file their quarterly reports.  
Administrative penalties of $100 per late report were assessed.  

Agreed Orders 2 

 Licensee agreed to license revocation and administrative penalty 
for failure to maintain CSO registration.  

 Licensee agreed to pay administrative penalty and submit late 2nd 
quarter reports as a condition of approval for permanent licensure. 

Table 2: Administrative action taken during FY 2013 (September 1, 2013 through August 31, 2013). 

 

Non-Compliance with Quarterly Data Reporting 

CY 2012 – 2nd Quarter  
Due July 31, 2012 

Delinquent Filings: 6 Store Locations 
5 licensees, comprised of 6 store locations, have not filed 2nd quarter reports. 

 Status:  All licensees have filed completed 2nd quarter reports.  

CY 2012 – 3rd Quarter  
Due October 31, 2012 

Delinquent Filings: 22 Store Locations 
11 licensees, comprised of 22 store locations, have not filed 3rd quarter reports. 

 Status:  All licensees have filed completed 3rd quarter reports.   

 Note:  3 preliminary reports issued for delinquent 3rd quarter filings were 
withdrawn when licensee surrendered license. 

CY 2012 – 4th Quarter  
Due January 31, 2013 

Delinquent Filings: 24 Store Locations 
14 licensees, comprised of 24 store locations, have not filed 4th quarter reports. 

 Status:  All licensees have filed completed 4th quarter reports.  

 Note:  2 preliminary reports issued for delinquent 4th quarter filings were 
withdrawn when the licensees submitted proof that their licensed locations 
transacted no loans in the 2012 calendar year. 

CY 2013 – 1st Quarter  
Due April 30, 2013 

Delinquent Filings: 21 Store Locations 
16 licensees, comprised of 21 store locations, have not filed 1st quarter reports. 

 Status:  15 licensees have filed completed reports. A license revocation action is 
pending against one licensee for failure to file a completed quarterly report. 

Table 3: Status of non-compliance with quarterly data reporting during FY 2013 (September 1, 2013 through August 31, 2013).  
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Credit Access Business Data Reporting 

The statistics presented represent data reported to the OCCC from CABs through the 2
nd

 quarter of calendar year 
2013. Amendments and corrections of data are included as of October 3, 2013. Full summary reports are available 
on the OCCC website at http://www.occc.state.tx.us/pages/publications/FinSvcsActvityRpts.html#CABRpts. 
 
The current reports include miscategorized data, which disregarded instructions issued by the OCCC. Specifically, 
several stores located in municipalities with ordinances affecting the operations of CABs have developed longer 
term obligations that were reported as single-payment transactions. These transactions should have been 
reported as multi-payment transactions. CABs that have reported the incorrect information are being contacted to 
amend their reports. Future releases will reflect the pending data corrections.     
 
Statewide Averages 
Quarterly reporting is designed on the product type, whether the product is a deferred presentment transaction 
(payday loan) or a title loan, and the repayment schedule due; either a single installment or multiple installment 
repayment. Each transaction must be reported as one of the four product types. 
 
Selected loan characteristics from the three preceding quarters is presented in the table below as well as the 
percent the data has changed from Q4 2012 to Q2 2013. The most noticeable trend is the overall lengthening of 
the original term of each product type. For example, the average scheduled term of installment title loans for Q4 
was 151 days and is now 180 days.  
 

Prior 3 Quarters Single Payment 
Deferred 

Installment 
Payment Deferred 

Single Payment 
Title 

Installment 
Payment Title 

Average Fee Amount (per $100 loaned) 

Q2 2013 $23.92 $82.79 $22.17 $63.62 

Q1 2013 $23.80 $83.25 $22.42 $54.25 

Q4 2012 $23.40 $68.76 $21.74 $59.72 

Change  
(Q4 - Q2) 

2.22% 20.40% 1.98% 6.53% 

Average Loan Amount 

Q2 2013 $438.91 $571.30 $1,147.18 $1,267.49 

Q1 2013 $447.71 $588.58 $1,053.51 $1,221.57 

Q4 2012 $469.50 $558.18 $1,092.56 $1,226.59 

Change (6.52%) 2.35% 5.00% 3.33% 

Average Original Term (days) 

Q2 2013 23 125 30 180 

Q1 2013 21 128 29 177 

Q4 2012 19 101 29 151 

Change 21.05% 23.76% 3.45% 19.21% 
 
 
  

http://www.occc.state.tx.us/pages/publications/FinSvcsActvityRpts.html#CABRpts
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Volume Totals (Comparison of First Two quarters CY 2012 & 2013) 
 
The following table captures the year over year volume comparison of combined Q1 & Q2 regardless of product 
type. Little change is reported in the number of consumers or the number of loans they obtained in the quarter. 
However, a roughly 25% decrease in refinancing activity is attributable to the combination of lengthier terms and 
more familiarity with refinancing definitions in the reporting process.   
 
  

Q1 & Q2 CY 2012 CY 2013 Change 

Number of Consumers  
(Per Reporting Location) 

1,115,168 1,108,001 (0.64%) 

Number of New Extensions 1,410,808 1,419,565 0.62% 

Number of Renewals on those Extensions 
(Renewed in quarter they were obtained) 

1,360,324 994,984 (26.86%) 

Number of Consumers Renewing 649,164 492,332 (24.16%) 

Total Number of Transactions1 3,932,579 3,399,528 (13.55%) 

Total Number of Vehicle Repossessions 17,175 17,604 2.50% 

 
Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) – Q2 Year of Year 
 
A number of local municipalities have enacted their own ordinances to regulate the CAB industry. The local effect 
of ordinances on reporting is noticeable in the length of the obligation. The following chart represents the 2

nd
 

quarter data received in ordinance affected areas that have influenced the term and consequently, the average 
fees initially charged on the obligations.  
 

Single Payment 
Deferred Presentment 

Average Fee  
(per $100 loaned) 

Average Term  
(In Days) 

Austin 
-2012 
-2013 

 
$22.14 
$30.74 

 
17 
47 

Dallas 
-2012 
-2013 

 
$24.54 
$26.35 

 
17 
23 

El Paso 
-2012 
-2013  

 
$22.80 
$22.12 

 
17 
18 

San Antonio 
-2012 
-2013 

 
$22.04 
$33.55 

 
17 
58 

Statewide Average 
-2012 
-2013 

 
$22.74 
$23.92 

 
19 
23 

 

  

                                                                 
1
All CAB Contracts including renewals made on previous loans  
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Texas Financial Education Endowment 

As part of the licensing process each CAB location pays an annual assessment fee to OCCC to provide opportunities 
for asset building, improved consumer credit, and financial education (§393.628, Texas Finance Code).  The 
assessments are collected by the OCCC during the licensing process and are invested with the Texas Treasury 
Safekeeping Trust Company.   
 

The endowment is administered by the Finance Commission of Texas and the purpose of the endowment is to 
fund programs that effectively support the financial empowerment of Texas consumers through financial 
education and awareness, primarily delivered and leveraged through grant awards to provider organizations.  To 
date the endowment fund balance is approximately $1.85 million, representing assessments collected through the 
CAB license processing and $0.5 million of litigation settlement proceeds.  On September 3, 2013, the Finance 
Commission of Texas announced the availability of $250,000 in grant funds from the Texas Financial Education 
Endowment “TFEE”.  Schools, governmental agencies, profit and not-for-profit organizations will be eligible for 
grant awards through a competitive application and review process. Applications for funding consideration will be 
accepted until October 15, 2013. Grant awards will range from $5,000 to $40,000.  The determination for grant 
awards is expected in mid-December. 
 
 

 


