
QUARTERLY UPDATE TO THE 

SENATE BUSINESS AND COMMERCE COMMITTEE 

October 9, 2012 

BY THE OFFICE OF CONSUMER CREDIT COMMISSIONER 

 

IMPLEMENTATION OF LEGISLATION FROM THE 82ND LEGISLATURE 
 

HB 2592: Payday and Title Loan Disclosures 
HB 2594: Payday and Title Loan Licensing 

 
Summary of Legislation 

These bills amend Chapter 393 of the Finance Code establishing new requirements for “credit access businesses,” 
which are credit services organizations (CSOs) that provide payday loans or title loans.  

Under HB 2592, credit access businesses (CABs) are required to provide a consumer disclosure prescribed by the 
Finance Commission. The disclosure must include interest, fees, and APR for the loan and a comparison of those 
charges to “alternative forms of consumer debt,” and it must describe fees that the consumer will incur for 
renewing the loan.  

Under HB 2594, credit access businesses are required to obtain a license with the OCCC. The OCCC has 
examination and investigation authority over credit access businesses. HB 2594 also requires the Finance 
Commission to create an endowment for financial education in Texas.  

The bills became effective January 1, 2012. 

Regulatory Activities 

Licensing. A CAB license application must be processed within 30 days of receipt of a completed application 
package. Anticipating a high volume of CAB application submissions during the first months of calendar year 2012 
(CY12), the Finance Commission (commission) promulgated rules regarding licensing and examination of credit 
access businesses and adopted a rule authorizing the issuance of a 90-day provisional license. The issuance of 
provisional licenses helped manage the licensing process through the transition and allowed recipients to continue 
operations until their applications had been fully processed. 

CAB Applications as of 03/30/12 as of 8/31/12 
Applications Filed 3,451 3,674 
Applications Fully Approved 2,579 3,054 
Applications Withdrawn 161 191 
Provisional Licenses Pending 3,002 275 
Applications Denied -- 25 



Consumer Protection & Examination. The commission adopted model disclosures for payday and title loan 
contracts in December 2011. The disclosures have been made available in both static and fillable formats to allow 
CABs to effectively comply with statutory and administrative requirements.  

The examination process began mid-March 2012, and 253 examinations were conducted by the end of FY12, to 
include participation and coordination of examinations with the Federal Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 
(CFPB). While the examination process indicated that 90.91% of those examined were within acceptable 
compliance levels, common violations and areas of non-compliance were identified. These violations range from 
failing to maintain CSO registration with the Secretary of State to charging unauthorized or excessive late charges. 
 

Common Violations or Non-Compliant Activities Identified Through Examination Process 

1 

Failure to provide, or provision of incorrect, CAB Disclosures as required by  

• §393.233, Texas Finance Code (Consumer Transaction Disclosure) 
• §393.105, Texas Finance Code (Disclosure Statement) 
• §393.201, Texas Finance Code (CSO Contract) 
• §393.202, Texas Finance Code (Notice of Cancellation) 

2 Failure to post fee schedule as required by § 393.222, Texas Finance Code 

3 
Failure to register, or to maintain registration, as a CSO with the Secretary of State as required by §393.101, 
Texas Finance Code. 

4 
Failure to obtain non-obligor signature on security agreements granting security interest in collateral as 
required by §9.203, Texas Business & Commerce Code. 

5 

Charge of excessive or unauthorized late charges on promissory notes 

• Assessment, charge and collection of late charges  and failing to contract for late charge 
• Assessment, charge and collection of late charges in in excess of allowed amount as defined in 

§302.001(d), Texas Finance Code 
 
 

The consumer assistance section received 306 complaints between December 1, 2011, and August 31, 2012. This 
number represents 15.73% of all received complaints by the agency.  

Consumer assistance pertaining to CAB transactions resulted in the closure of 280 of the received complaints and 7 
consumers receiving refunds totaling $3,175.24. Consumer complaints predominately pertain to contract issues 
and charges and fees related to both title and payday loans. Recurring complaints related to vehicle repossessions 
were received in relation to title loans.  
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Payday Loans Title Loans 

Complaint/Concern % of Closed 
Complaints Complaint/Concern % of Closed 

Complaints 

Contract Issues1 27.1% Excessive or Unauthorized 
Charges & Fees 24.3% 

Excessive or Unauthorized 
Charges & Fees 24.3% Contract Issues 23.3% 

Collection Practices  18.1% Repossessions 16.5% 
 

Legal Activities. The legal section has reported minimal enforcement actions taken or required since the start of 
the calendar year, and those taken predominantly pertain to compliance with quarterly reporting requirements. 

Type of Action Number of Actions Cause of Action 

Administrative Hearing 1 Applicant appeal of license denial. 

License Revocation 1 

Licensee failed to maintain registration with 
Secretary of State as a CSO. Licensee operated 
business under a name other than that applied 
for/provided on the CAB application. Licensee 
agreed to administrative penalty and license 
revocation. 

Issuance of Preliminary Reports 5 Licensees have not yet filed the 2nd quarter data 
report. Administrative penalties were assessed. 

 

 

 

Non-Compliance with Quarterly Data Reporting 

1st Quarter Reporting 
Due April 30, 2012 

Incomplete Filings:5 Store Locations 
1 provisional licensee, with 5 store locations, has incomplete 1st-quarter  
report filings. 

2nd Quarter Reporting 
Due July 31, 2012 

Incomplete Filings:5 Store Locations 

1 provisional licensee, with 5 store locations, has not filed 2nd-quarter  
report filings. 

Delinquent Filings:6 Store Locations 

5 licensees, comprised of 6 store locations, have not filed 2nd-quarter reports. 

 

 

1 This category encompasses allegations or consumer concerns regarding violations of terms and conditions, fees and charges, fraud or 
misrepresentation, cross-collateralization between products, collection practices, choice of law/tribal entity, and failure to receive copy of 
contract. 

Quarterly Update: Senate Business & Commercie Committee 
October 9, 2012 

Page 2



Data Reporting. HB 2594 requires data reporting by the CABs that provides an industry snapshot as to the 
frequency of consumer use, fees assessed, and repayment characteristics. An online reporting site was launched in 
late March 2012 allowing the CABs to submit their quarterly data. Data reports have been received for the first two 
quarters of calendar year 2012 and highlights of the data received are presented below. Third-quarter reporting 
will be conducted during October 2012. Fourth quarter and annual data will be reported during January 2013. 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Based on prior outstanding & newly obtained title loans 

Data Highlights Q1 Q2 

Number of consumers for whom the CAB obtained an extension of credit 554,696 600,971 

Number of extensions of credit obtained by CAB 825,651 900,038 

Number of payday (deferred presentment) loans obtained 713,209 738,473 

Number of auto title loans obtained 112,442 161,565 

Average amount of single installment payday loan $471.31 $467.24 

Average cab fee per $100 borrowed for a single installment payday loan $22.70 $22.83 

Average original term (in days) of single installment payday loan 19 19 

Average amount of a single installment title loan $966.25 $707.42 

Average cab fee per $100 borrowed for a single installment title loan $22.41 $21.30 

Average original term (in days) of single installment title loan 30 30 

Number of vehicles surrendered or repossessed under auto title loan 8,808 8,233 

Total number of locations reporting 3,232 3,280 

Changes in  
Reported Aggregate Data 

 
Repossession Rate2 

Refinancing Activity  
(Aggregate Quarterly Report) 

• 7.7%  increase in number of 
consumers 

 
• 9.0% increase in new loans 
o 3.54% increase in  

payday loans 
o 43.69% increase in  

title loans 

• Quarter 1 
1 repossession per 29 active loans 

 
• Quarter 2 

1 repossession per 37 active loans 

• Newly obtained single-payment 
payday loans refinanced in same 
quarter 
o Quarter 1:  1.15 times 
o Quarter 2:  1.07 times 

 
• Newly obtained single-payment 

title loans refinanced in same 
quarter 
o Quarter 1:  1.04 times 
o Quarter 2:  0.70 times 
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Multi-Payment Installment Loan Characteristics 

 Avg Additional Cash Advance Equivalent Payments To  
Single Pay Term3 

Quarter 1   
Payday 29% 5 

Title 17% 4 
Quarter 2   

Payday  20% 5 
Title 63% 5 

THE AVERAGE PERCENTAGE AMOUNT OF A CASH ADVANCE THAT IS GREATER BETWEEN MULTI-PAYMENT 
LOANS TO SINGLE-PAYMENT LOANS, AND THE NUMBER OF EQUIVALENT PAYMENTS THAT A CUSTOMER 
MUST PAY FOR A MULTI-PAYMENT LOAN IN COMPARISON WITH A SINGLE-PAYMENT LOAN. 

Communication and Outreach. The agency has conversed with industry stakeholders and associations on myriad 
topics regarding licensing and examination processes, and met with individual groups as requested. The agency 
solicited industry stakeholder feedback regarding internet transaction regulation, provisional licensing, and 
licensing regulation during the third and fourth quarter of FY12.Webinars are scheduled during the first quarter of 
FY13.The first webinar was conducted in September and provided assistance with data identification, definition 
and reporting as it relates to the quarterly submissions. The second webinar is scheduled for October and will 
address general compliance topics targeted to specific industry stakeholders associated with a particular trade 
association. An additional webinar is anticipated for November to discuss issues with the required annual data 
report. 

Texas Financial Education Endowment.  As part of the licensing process each CAB location pays an annual 
assessment fee to OCCC to provide opportunities for asset building, improved consumer credit, and financial 
education (§393.628, Texas Finance Code).  The assessments are collected by the OCCC during the licensing 
process and are deposited into an interest-bearing account with Texas Treasure Safekeeping Trust Company.   

The endowment is administered by the Finance Commission of Texas and the purpose of the endowment is to 
fund programs that effectively support the financial empowerment of Texas consumers through financial 
education and awareness, primarily delivered and leveraged through grant awards to provider organizations.  To 
date the endowment fund balance is $1 million, representing assessments collected through the CAB licensing 
processing and recovery funds received from NMLS.   

The OCCC is working with the Finance Commission to develop grant application, administration and distribution 
policies. Over the next 18 – 24 months, the development and implementation of these policies will occur followed 
by grant distribution in accordance with approved program structure.   

Finance Commission of Texas – Resolution Supporting Uniformity of Laws Governing Credit Access Businesses. 
The commission adopted a resolution on April 20, 2012, in response to ordinances passed in certain Texas cities 
seeking to impose additional requirements or restrictions on CABs located within their city. Recently enacted local 
ordinances increase the complexity of compliance for Texas CABs. The resolution is a request to the Texas 
Legislature to amend the laws concerning CABs and to clearly articulate the legislature’s intent for uniform laws 
and rules to govern CABs.  

3 Payments rounded to whole number and assumes payment intervals are single payment averages (19 days for payday loans and 30 days for 
title loans)  
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OFFICIAL STATE OF TEXAS NOTICE:  This consumer disclosure has been provided in  

accordance with SecƟon 393.223 of the T�ø�Ý F®Ä�Ä�� CÊ��.                                                     Form Rev:  December 2012 

 

AŌer reviewing the terms of the loan, you are not required to choose this loan, and 

may consider other borrowing opƟons, including those shown on Page 2 of this 

document. 

PAYDAY	LOAN—SINGLE	PAYMENT	

Ask Yourself... 

 Is it necessary for me to  

borrow the money? 

 Can I afford to pay this loan 

back in full in two weeks? 

 Will I be able to pay my regular 

bills and repay this loan? 

 Can I afford the extra charges, 

interest, and fees that may be 

applied if I miss or fail to make  

payment? 

 Are other credit opƟons  

available to me at this Ɵme? 

  2 1/2 people will pay the loan on Ɵme and   

in 1 payment (typically two weeks) 

 
2 people will renew the loan 1 or 2 Ɵmes 

 
1 1/2 people will renew the loan 3 or 4 Ɵmes 

 
4 people will renew the loan 5 or more Ɵmes 

How Long Could It Take to Repay a Loan? 

   

 

 

 

 

Of 10 people who take out a new payday loan… 

Adapted from: Bertrand & Morse, “InformaƟon Disclosure, CogniƟve Biases and Payday Borrowing”,  

Milton Friedman InsƟtute for Research in Economics (Oct. 2009). 

Data provided above is compiled from a 2008 naƟonal survey; repayment paƩerns may be different. 

How much  

will a  

two‐week, 

$500 payday 

loan cost? 

 

If I pay the  

loan in: 

I will have   

to pay: 

1 Month*  $  754.80 

2 Months*  $  1,009.60 

3 Months*  $  1,264.40 

2 Weeks  $  627.40 

The loan information shown here is an  
example and may not reflect the actual fees 
and interest charged to a loan provided by the 
lender or credit access business. 

Borrowed 
Amount 

$500.00 

Interest 
Contract Rate: 10% 

$2.40 

Fees $125.00 

Payback 
Amount 

$627.40 

*Payment amounts are approximated. 

Turn Page 
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OFFICIAL STATE OF TEXAS NOTICE:  This consumer disclosure has been provided in  

accordance with SecƟon 393.223 of the T�ø�Ý F®Ä�Ä�� CÊ��.                                                     Form Rev:  December 2012 

	

	

Average Amount of Interest & Fees  

Le
a
st
 E
xp
en
si
ve
  M

o
st Exp

en
sive 

C�Ý« A�ò�Ä�� / BÊÙÙÊó�� AÃÊçÄã  $500.00 

IÄã�Ù�Ýã P�ùÃ�Äã 

The amount you will pay in interest for the loan. 
$2.40 

TÊã�½ Ê¥ F��Ý 

The amount you will pay in fees for this loan. 
$125.00 

TÊã�½ Ê¥ P�ùÃ�ÄãÝ 

The amount you will pay if you repay the loan on Ɵme. 
$627.40 

AÄÄç�½ P�Ù��Äã�¦� R�ã� (APR) 

The yearly rate of the interest and fees for this loan. 
664.30% 

Loan	Calculation		

&	

Cost	Comparison	

  16%    28%    82%    180%              450%                590%           700% 

          $0.61               $1.07                   $1.91       $4.43          $7.00     $15.42      $16.99      $35.00        

Secured Loans Credit Cards  Signature Loans 

Auto  Title Loans 

Pawn Loans 

Payday Loans 

Secured Loans  Signature Loans 

How Does a Payday Loan Compare to Other OpƟons? 

Per $100 borrowed over 2 weeks 

Payday loans are cash advances provided to a borrower to meet financial needs.  As a borrower, you will be required to sign a loan agreement 

that tells you the amount you have requested to borrow, the annual percentage rate (APR) for that loan, the amount of interest and fees that 

may be  charged  for  that  loan, and  the payment  terms of  the  loan.   Payday  loans may be one of  the more expensive borrowing opƟons  

available to you.  Payday loans may also be referred to as cash advance, delayed deposit or deferred presentment loans. 

Complaint  or  Concern? 

 

If you would like to file a 

concern or  complaint  

regarding a payday loan, 

contact the  

Office of  

Consumer Credit  

Commissioner  

800‐538‐1579 

Looking for Information on 
Budgeting, Personal 
Savings, Credit Card 

Management, or other 
personal money 

management skills? 
 

Visit the OCCC’s Financial 
Literacy Resource Page 

 

hƩp://www.occc.state.tx.us/

pages/consumer/educaƟon/

Financial_Literacy_Resources.html 

You may be required to write 

checks or authorize withdrawals 

from personal checking accounts to 

cover payments for the loans.   

You can compare all loan opƟons 

available and select the opƟon that 

is best for you.   

You can avoid extra fees and loan 
renewal costs by not missing  

payments and by repaying loans  

on Ɵme. 

 

Pawn Loans 

AddiƟonal InformaƟon 

Credit Cards 

Auto  Title Loans  Payday Loans 
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Data contained within the below summary represents aggregated statewide first-quarter data reported by CABs as of 9/7/2012. 
The OCCC reviews submitted data for reasonableness rather than for accuracy.  The OCCC will request verification from the 
licensee of any data that is found to be questionable or unreasonable.   

Section 393.627 of the Texas Finance Code required credit access businesses (CABs) to file quarterly reports with 
the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC) identifying loan activity associated with  

• single and installment deferred presentment (payday) loans, and  
• single and installment auto title loans.  

 
Data Limitations 

Data provided by reporting CABs reflects location-level activity for the identified quarter; reported data has been 
aggregated and presented below to reflect statewide activity within this industry. 

The data presented in the following summary represents CAB submissions, to include any corrected data, of first-
quarter activity as of September 7, 2012. 

 
 

Credit Access Business (CAB) 
First Quarter Data Report, CY 2012  

 

Item 
Number 

Item Description1 

Single Payment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transactions 

Installment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transactions 

Single 
Payment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

Installment 
Title Loans 

1 
Number of consumers for whom the CAB 
obtained or assisted in obtaining an extension 
of consumer credit during the reporting period. 

404,489 59,593 77,401 13,213 

2 

Number of extensions of consumer credit 
obtained by the CAB or that the CAB assisted 
consumers in obtaining during the reporting 
period. 

644,755 68,454 99,013 13,429 

3 
Number of refinancing transactions of the 
extensions of consumer credit described in #2. 

742,768 40,331 103,224 8,363 

4 
Number of consumers refinancing the 
extensions of consumer credit described in #2. 

301,753 27,617 55,988 6,584 

(Table continued to next page)

2601 N. Lamar Blvd 
Austin TX 78705 

 
512- 936-7600 

Fax:  512-936-7610 
Consumer Helpline:  800-538-1579 

Email: info@occc.state.tx.us 
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Office of Consumer  
Credit Commissioner 
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Item 
Number 

Item Description 

Single Payment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Installment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Single 
Payment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

Installment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

5 
Number of consumers refinancing more than 
once the extensions of consumer credit 
described in #2. 

200,321 5,795 37,423 679 

62 
Average amount of the extension of consumer 
credit 

$471.31 $606.50 $966.25 $1,129.67 

7 
Total amount of CAB fees charged by the CAB 
for the activities described in #2 and #3. 

$125,355,496 $22,394,300 $34,706,280 $12,293,939 

8 

Number of vehicles surrendered or 
repossessed during the reporting period under 
the terms of a motor vehicle title loan obtained 
by the CAB or that the CAB assisted consumers 
in obtaining. 

0 0 6,729 2,079 

93 Mean, Median, and Mode of the number of refinances obtained by the CAB in the reporting period 

9A4 Mean 2.46 1.46 1.84 1.27 

9B5 Median 2 1 1 1 

9C6 Mode 1 1 1 1 

10 Other CAB Transaction Information 

10A7 
Minimum CAB Fee charged per transaction  
($ per $100 borrowed)     

 
        $0 - $9.99 9.61% 1.83% 13.19% 0.91% 

 
        $10  - $19.99 23.94% 16.21% 30.84% 20.68% 

 
        $20 -  $29.99 65.70% 7.08% 52.85% 2.60% 

 
        $30 or more 0.75% 74.89% 3.13% 75.81% 

      
10B8 

Average CAB Fee charged per transaction  
($ per $100 borrowed) $22.70 $130.55 $22.41 $102.51 

10C 
Maximum CAB Fee charged per transaction  
($ per $100)     

 
        Less than $30 68.80% 24.09% 70.34% 21.98% 

 
        $30 - $49.99 20.68% 0.68% 29.04% 0.78% 

 
        $50 - $74.99 5.48% 5.25% 0.56% 5.20% 

 
        More than $75 5.04% 69.98% 0.05% 70.87% 

      (Table continued to next page)

Quarterly Update: Senate Business & Commercie Committee 
October 9, 2012 

Page 8



 

Item 
Number 

Item Description 

Single Payment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Installment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Single 
Payment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

Installment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

10D9 Average original term (in days) of an extension 19 98 30 126 

10E 
Number of outstanding extensions of consumer 
credit and refinances (CAB contracts) at 
beginning of the reporting period. 337,369 69,204 111,123 31,548 

10F 
Number of extensions of consumer credit and 
refinances (CAB contracts) entered into during 
the reporting period. 1,627,189 135,138 313,000 31,054 

10G 

Number of extensions of consumer credit and 
refinances (CAB contracts) paid in full or 
otherwise closed for reduced payoff during the 
reporting period. 888,440 65,893 206,759 25,164 

10H 

Total dollar amount of extensions of consumer 
credit obtained by the CAB or that the CAB 
assisted consumers in obtaining that were paid 
in full or otherwise closed for reduced payoff 
during reporting period. $444,400,163 $44,045,651 $205,562,690 $29,405,798 

10I 
Number of outstanding extensions of consumer 
credit and refinances (CAB contracts) at the 
end of the reporting period. 369,432 93,175 115,409 32,503 

      

 
Number of Locations reporting activity in each 
category 

2,519 876 1,949 769 

 
Total Number of Locations Reporting 

   
3,232 

 

1Item Numbers 1-9 capture activity related to only extensions originated in the reporting quarter while Item Number 10 relates to all CAB activity in the quarter. 
2 Weighted average based on number of extensions obtained in the quarter for each location. Total average loan amount for industry found by summing all 

locations’ proportionally weighted average loan amount. 

  

3 Based on companies reporting refinances during the quarter 
4 Mean is represented as the average number of refinances per consumer who does refinance (Item #3 / Item #4)  
5 The median of all reported medians from companies that had refinancing activity  
6 The mode of all reported modes from companies that had refinancing activity 
7 Percentage of companies reporting the CAB fee for the range shown excluding companies that reported no activity 
8 Weighted average based on number of CAB contracts entered into during the quarter. Total average cab fee for industry found by summing all locations’ 

proportionally weighted average cab fee amount. Represented as $ per $100 borrowed regardless of term. 

 
9 Weighted average based on number of CAB contracts entered into during the quarter. Total average original term for industry found by summing all locations’ 

proportionally weighted average original term. 
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Data contained within the below summary represents aggregated statewide second-quarter data reported by CABs as of 
9/7/2012. The OCCC reviews submitted data for reasonableness rather than for accuracy.  The OCCC will request verification 
from the licensee of any data that is found to be questionable or unreasonable.   

Section 393.627 of the Texas Finance Code required credit access businesses (CABs) to file quarterly reports with 
the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC) identifying loan activity associated with  

• single and installment deferred presentment (payday) loans, and  
• single and installment auto title loans.  

 
Data Limitations 

Data provided by reporting CABs reflects location-level activity for the identified quarter; reported data has been 
aggregated and presented below to reflect statewide activity within this industry. 

The data presented in the following summary represents CAB submissions, to include any corrected data, of first-
quarter activity as of September 7, 2012. 

 
 

Credit Access Business (CAB)  
Second Quarter Data Report, CY 2012  

 

Item 
Number 

Item Description1 

Single Payment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transactions 

Installment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transactions 

Single 
Payment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

Installment 
Title Loans 

1 
Number of consumers for whom the CAB 
obtained or assisted in obtaining an extension 
of consumer credit during the reporting period. 

399,598 93,081 85,205 23,087 

2 

Number of extensions of consumer credit 
obtained by the CAB or that the CAB assisted 
consumers in obtaining during the reporting 
period. 

632,645 105,828 137,964 23,601 

3 
Number of refinancing transactions of the 
extensions of consumer credit described in #2. 

674,329 55,134 97,078 7,824 

4 
Number of consumers refinancing the 
extensions of consumer credit described in #2. 

280,867 35,791 54,889 4,947 

(Table continued to next page)
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Item 
Number 

Item Description 

Single Payment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Installment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Single 
Payment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

Installment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

5 
Number of consumers refinancing more than 
once the extensions of consumer credit 
described in #2. 

177,834 10,066 29,194 1,341 

62 
Average amount of the extension of consumer 
credit 

$467.24 $558.99 $707.42 $1,150.13 

7 
Total amount of CAB fees charged by the CAB 
for the activities described in #2 and #3. 

$114,246,145 $34,759,689 $41,786,519 $17,159,599 

8 

Number of vehicles surrendered or 
repossessed during the reporting period under 
the terms of a motor vehicle title loan obtained 
by the CAB or that the CAB assisted consumers 
in obtaining. 

    6,234 1,999 

93 Mean, Median, and Mode of the number of refinances obtained by the CAB in the reporting period 

9A4 Mean 2.40 1.54 1.77 1.58 

9B5 Median 2 1 1 1 

9C6 Mode 1 1 1 1 

10 Other CAB Transaction Information 

10A7 
Minimum CAB Fee charged per transaction  
($ per $100 borrowed)     

 
        $0 - $9.99 12% 2% 17% 2% 

 
        $10  - $19.99 27% 2% 31% 2% 

 
        $20 -  $29.99 61% 16% 48% 22% 

 
        $30 or more 1% 81% 5% 74% 

      
10B8 

Average CAB Fee charged per transaction  
($ per $100 borrowed) 

$22.83 $202.96 $21.30 $131.67 

10C 
Maximum CAB Fee charged per transaction  
($ per $100)     

 
        Less than $30 68% 10% 65% 24% 

 
        $30 - $49.99 20% 0% 34% 3% 

 
        $50 - $74.99 7% 6% 1% 4% 

 
        More than $75 4% 84% 0% 69% 

      (Table continued to next page)
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Item 
Number 

Item Description 

Single Payment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Installment 
Deferred 

Presentment 
Transaction 

Single 
Payment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

Installment 
Auto Title 

Loans 

10D9 Average original term (in days) of an extension 19 98 30 149 

10E 
Number of outstanding extensions of consumer 
credit and refinances (CAB contracts) at 
beginning of the reporting period. 

566,503 89,738 114,791 31,984 

10F 
Number of extensions of consumer credit and 
refinances (CAB contracts) entered into during 
the reporting period. 

1,487,582 170,530 310,426 36,731 

10G 

Number of extensions of consumer credit and 
refinances (CAB contracts) paid in full or 
otherwise closed for reduced payoff during the 
reporting period. 

838,455 67,816 180,397 22,043 

10H 

Total dollar amount of extensions of consumer 
credit obtained by the CAB or that the CAB 
assisted consumers in obtaining that were paid 
in full or otherwise closed for reduced payoff 
during reporting period. 

$408,460,527 $43,336,078 $168,894,235 $27,713,052 

10I 
Number of outstanding extensions of consumer 
credit and refinances (CAB contracts) at the 
end of the reporting period. 

501,750 119,166 99,585 40,019 

      

 
Number of Locations reporting activity in each 
category 

2,587 656 2,084 1,120 

 
Total Number of Locations Reporting 

   
3,280 

 

1Item Numbers 1-9 capture activity related to only extensions originated in the reporting quarter while Item Number 10 relates to all CAB activity in the quarter. 
2 Weighted average based on number of extensions obtained in the quarter for each location. Total average loan amount for industry found by summing all 

locations’ proportionally weighted average loan amount. 

  

3 Based on companies reporting refinances during the quarter 
4 Mean is represented as the average number of refinances per consumer who does refinance (Item #3 / Item #4)  
5 The median of all reported medians from companies that had refinancing activity  
6 The mode of all reported modes from companies that had refinancing activity 
7 Percentage of companies reporting the CAB fee for the range shown excluding companies that reported no activity 
8 Weighted average based on number of CAB contracts entered into during the quarter. Total average cab fee for industry found by summing all locations’ 

proportionally weighted average cab fee amount. Represented as $ per $100 borrowed regardless of term. 

 
9 Weighted average based on number of CAB contracts entered into during the quarter. Total average original term for industry found by summing all locations’ 

proportionally weighted average original term. 
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FINANCE COMMISSION OF TEXAS 
 

RESOLUTION SUPPORTING UNIFORMITY OF LAWS GOVERNING CREDIT ACCESS 
BUSINESSES 

 
WHEREAS, in 2011, the Texas Legislature enacted legislation that amended Chapter 393 of the 
Texas Finance Code, providing licensure and disclosure requirements for credit access 
businesses that assist consumers in engaging in deferred presentment transactions and motor 
vehicle title loans; and, 

 
WHEREAS, the Finance Commission of Texas has carefully considered and adopted rules 
implementing this legislation; and, 

 
WHEREAS, the legislation and rules governing credit access business have statewide effect; 
and, 

 
WHEREAS, at least two municipal jurisdictions have enacted ordinances creating different 
requirements from the legislation and rules exclusively for credit access businesses; and, 

 
WHEREAS, the ordinances not only increase complexity of compliance and training for Texas 
credit access businesses, which are now subject to different requirements in the various Texas 
cities where they operate, but also impose civil or criminal penalties on conduct that complies 
with state law and the rules; and, 

 
WHEREAS, these differing requirements have the potential to create confusion and disparate 
impact on the part of consumers who are assisted by credit access businesses subject to 
dissimilar requirements, even potentially within a single ZIP code; and 

 
WHEREAS, the adoption of distinctly different ordinances among multiple jurisdictions could 
create potential conflict with state law, resulting in the possibility of lengthy and costly litigation. 

 
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Texas Finance Commission does hereby 
request that the Texas Legislature consider amending the Texas Finance Code to more clearly 
articulate its intent for uniform laws and rules to govern credit access businesses in Texas. 

 
 
 

Given under my hand at Austin, Texas 
On the 20th day of April 
In the year two thousand and twelve 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chair, Finance Commission of Texas 
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HB 2490: Metal Dealers 
 
Summary of Legislation 

HB 2490 amends Chapter 1956 of the Occupations Code, requiring crafted precious metal dealers (including gold-
buying businesses) to register with the OCCC. For each purchase, the dealer must complete a form listing the date 
of the transaction, a description of the metal product, and the name and address of the buyer and seller and then 
submit those transaction forms to local law enforcement authorities. If a peace officer notifies the dealer about an 
allegedly stolen item, the dealer will be required to hold the item for 60 days without altering or selling it. The 
OCCC has the authority to investigate complaints about metal dealers; consumer assistance reporting and data 
collection processes have been amended to include crafted precious metal dealers and agency representatives are 
prepared to address any received concerns or complaints. The registration requirement became effective January 
1, 2012. 

Implementation Actions 

In December 2011, the agency implemented an online registration system enabling crafted precious metal dealers 
(CPMDs) to register permanent and temporary business locations. The registration system is hosted upon the 
Texas Department of Public Safety’s (TxDPS) website and is based upon that agency’s metals recycling program.  By 
partnering with TxDPS’ software vendors and the state business portal, the registration process provides secure 
and efficient payment processing and allows for immediate, on-demand registration certificates for registrants.  
CPMDs are making efforts to comply with the registration requirements, however it is noted that registration 
levels may not wholly represent the number of CPMDs engaged in regulated activity throughout the state.  
 

Registered Precious Metal Dealers Data as of 06/30/12 8/31/12 
  Permanent locations 2,213 2,336 
  Temporary locations 346 362 
  Total registered locations 2,559 2,698 

 

Since the registration requirement became effective January 1, 2012, the agency engaged in communication and 
marketing activities focused on effective and informative communication relating to CPMD registration 
requirements. These efforts have included the development of  

• a notification letter to be sent to identified entities or individuals who may be engaged in business 
transactions and who may require registration under the CPMD program, 

• an information piece distributed to local law enforcement and county sheriffs’ departments that provided 
general information on registration and operations requirement and the support role of the OCCC, 

• informational materials distributed statewide to Better Business Bureaus, Chambers of Commerce, 
regional flea markets, smelters, and state convention and visitors bureaus regarding registration 
requirements,  and 

• a statewide press release distributed through Texas.gov to more than 300 media outlets, complimented 
by media comments and interviews as requested.  

The consumer assistance section has received 24 complaints or inquiries regarding crafted precious metals from 
the general public and local law enforcement.  Complaints and inquiries predominantly pertain to confirmation of 
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dealer registration, length of holding period, use of transaction forms, allegations of theft and under valuation of 
merchandise.  Four investigations have been initiated due to the dealer failing to respond to agency requests or 
providing inadequate responses.  

Number of Complaints 
or Inquiries 

Type of Complaint or Inquiry 

16 Confirmation of registration status by consumer or local law enforcement 
2 Inquiry seeking Information regarding the use of transaction forms by local law 

enforcement 
2 Inquiry as to the length of hold periods for purchased merchandise by consumers 
3 Misleading practices:  sale for less than going price, allegation of theft of merchandise 

by consumer 
1 Inquiry for general information 

 

SB 762: Property Tax Loan Fees 
 
Summary of Legislation 

SB 762 adds Section 351.0021 to the Finance Code, providing an exclusive list of post-closing fees that property tax 
lenders may charge. The bill became effective September 1, 2011. The bill also requires that the Finance 
Commission conduct a study of the interest, fees, and charges that are assessed by property tax lenders. 

Implementation Actions 

The OCCC staff collected and analyzed current and historical data to provide an understanding of the types and 
costs of fees charged to property tax loan borrowers in connection with obtaining the loan and after closing.  Study 
findings provided details of allowable charges, and more specifically, the actual occurrence of charges incurred by 
borrowers. Through examination of actual loans made, the study classified the costs associated with property tax 
loans characterized by the paying habits of actual borrowers (non-problem, problem, and foreclosure loans).   Data 
was obtained and analyzed from three sources:   

(1) annual report filings collected for CY 2008 – CY 2011;  

(2) a survey questionnaire filed as an addendum to the CY 2011 annual report which included historical 
data for CY 2008 – CY 2011; and 

(3)  a data survey collected onsite by OCCC examiners using  a random sampling of loans sufficient in size 
to yield a 95% confidence level within three separate sampling frames.  

The Finance Commission approved the final study during its August 2012 meeting.  A summary of the report findings 
follows. The full report may be found at: http://www.fc.texas.gov/Studies/propertytaxlending.pdf. 
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Trends Identified  
CY2008 to CY2011  

Data Provided by Industry Participants via Questionnaire 

• 5.75% growth in number of loans made 

• 87.77% increase in total dollar value of 
loans made 

• 77.57% increase in average loan amount 

• Foreclosures by property tax lenders 
increased from 99 in CY2008 to 204 during 
CY2011 

• Foreclosure rates by property tax lenders 
increased from  of 1 out of 166 properties 
for CY2008 to 1 out of 150 in CY2011, as 
based on number of year-end receivables 

 
•  

85.59% of 2011 transfers  
involved residential properties 

 

 
 
 

• 14.41% of 2011 transfers  
involved commercial properties 

Avg. Transfer Amount 
$8,809.77 

Avg. Closing Costs 
$865.52 

Avg. Interest Rate 
14.37% 

 

Avg. Transfer Amount 
$35,006.25 

Avg. Closing Costs 
$1,545.77 

Avg. Interest Rate 
14.20% 

 
Loan Characteristics Data Collected through OCCC Examination & Supervision 

Activities 

Questionnaire-Based Results 

• Interest rates for both commercial and 
residential properties are at a 4-year low 

• Residential closing costs are at a  
4-year low for both dollar amounts and 
percentages of tax lien transfer amounts 

• Commercial closing costs are at a 4-year 
low as a percentage of tax lien transfer 
amounts 

Survey-Based Results 

• 62.28% of borrowers had a pre-existing 
mortgage 

• 43.05% of paid property tax loans were 
paid by a mortgage company4 

  

• 99.36% of loans heading towards 
foreclosure had additional servicing  
fees averaging $2,384.91 

• 92.21% of loans with extreme 
delinquency5 had additional servicing 
fees averaging $923.92 

• 61.64% of loans without extreme 
delinquency had additional servicing  
fees averaging $274.16 

 

• Largest expense was foreclosure  
costs 

 
 

• Most common fees assessed  
were internal collection fees 

 
Historical figures 
presented in 
these bullet items 
include charges 
that are no longer 
authorized as of 
September 1, 
2011.  Current 
limitations on 
servicing fees will 
impact costs 
going forward. 
 

Average: 
$1,544.22 
 
Median:  $1,2006 

 

Affected 50.64% 
of accounts 
without extreme 
delinquency 

 
 
 
4 130 of 302 sampled property tax loans that were paid in full were paid by a mortgage company 
5 For this study, extreme delinquency is classified as contractual delinquency of 90+ days 
6 Figure includes active loans where additional fees may be assessed 
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HB 2931: Motor Vehicle Debt Cancellation Agreements 
 
Summary of Legislation 

HB 2931 provides a new statutory framework for debt cancellation agreements on financed motor vehicles where 
the motor vehicle is required to be insured for property damage. A debt cancellation agreement (DCA) is an 
agreement in which the holder of a retail installment contract will cancel all or part of the remaining amount owed 
on the finance contract if the vehicle is stolen or totaled. If a DCA requires the buyer to maintain insurance on the 
vehicle, the holder will generally cancel only the difference between the insurance coverage on the vehicle and the 
remaining amount owed. HB 2931 adds a new subchapter to Chapter 348 of the Finance Code, detailing the 
provisions that may be included in a DCA that requires insurance. The bill also requires the OCCC to approve or 
disapprove DCA forms within 45 days after they are submitted to the agency. The bill does not affect DCAs where 
the buyer is not required to obtain insurance. These agreements would still have to comply with the rules that the 
Finance Commission adopted in 2010. HB 2931 became effective September 1, 2011.  

Implementation Activities 

As a result of HB 2931, existing rules relating to DCAs that required insurance were repealed, as the new provisions 
of HB 2931 will control these agreements. The OCCC issued a bulletin detailing the process for submission of a DCA 
form for review.  

As of August 31, 2012, DCA review status is as follows:  

 

Debt Cancellation Agreement Review Status Data as of 08/31/12 
  Approved DCAs 345 
  Denied DCAs 52 
  DCAs Pending Review 9 
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